about_banner

Step By Step Zoom Guide

Based on training program written by Asa’el Dryer

Open the Zoom program

Are you joining an existing meeting, or do you wish to login with the Technion user code?

When joining an existing meeting, enter the meeting code and perhaps also the meeting password.

When pressing Sign On, select Technion and enter your email and password.

“Start a meeting” and start configuring the requested parameters.

 “With video on” if you want your video camera to work during the meeting, or with “video off” if you want to join a meeting without video. Naturally, you can also hide your camera later on.

Select the computer’s microphone if you are working with it, or an external microphone, if it’s connected to the computer;

How do I invite friends to join a Zoom video meeting?

All you need to do is press “Invite” in the program’s bottom toolbar, and then “Copy URL”:

Then send the URL to your friend any way you want (WhatsApp, email, text message, or so on) by pressing Paste or Ctrl+V, which will create a link to join. The moment your friend presses the link, the program will open and they’ll join your zoom meeting.

If your friend doesn’t have Zoom installed on their computer, send them this guide, so they can install it and join in.

 

Why has Zoom become so popular?

Zoom is, as you know, not the only service that allows video communications in a multi-participant environment. Even so, many organizations and private groups choose Zoom as their preferred technological solution for holding meetings with multiple participants. Let’s try to understand why.

 

Easy to use

One shared characteristic of many successful online services is their simplicity of use. To join a Zoom meeting, you don’t have to go through a tiresome registration process, memorize hard-to-crack passwords, identify yourselves with various technological measures, or install complex software.

 

Support for multiple platforms

The Zoom service operates on a broad variety of platforms: it is available via web-based connections on computers, as an application for devices using the Android operating systems, as well as an application that can be downloaded from the App Store for various Apple devices.

 

Screen sharing and control of a shared screen by another participant

Zoom allows all participants connected to a meeting to share the computer screen. In addition, as needed, when someone shares a message, another meeting participant can send a request to take over their screen, thus helping them if they’re stuck or if they aren’t sure what to do and seek additional guidance.

When sharing your screen, you can decide whether to share a specific screen (for participants with multiple monitors) or a specific software window open on the computer.

How do I end screen sharing on Zoom?

Simply press the red “Stop Share” button.

How do I end screen sharing on Zoom?

Simply press the red “Stop Share” button.

Digital whiteboard

In the screen sharing zone we reviewed earlier, you can select a digital whiteboard instead of sharing your screen. The Zoom digital whiteboard allows the person selecting this function to draw on the board and write text onscreen, which is then shared in real-time with all of the virtual meeting’s participants.

Call duration

On Zoom you can hold meetings for up to 40 minutes for free, while the paid version allows you to hold unlimited meetings (within reason, of course.)

 

Multiple meeting participants

Zoom will display up to 49 participants onscreen simultaneously, but in practice it allows up to 1000 people to take part in a meeting. In this work configuration, when over 50 people take part in a meeting, the various participants are displayed onscreen on an alternating basis.

Sending files to colleagues

Zoom allows various users to send files to each other as part of their ongoing communications.

 

Scheduling Zoom meetings

Meeting managers do not need to create meetings in real-time; they can make all the necessary preparations for use in the future.

 

Greenscreen

Zoom users who wish to hide the background behind them so other Zoom users can’t see it can do so by setting a different background from a limited number of existing backgrounds or by uploading an additional background to Zoom.

 

Advanced management options

Zoom allows the meeting host (creator) to manage configurations for all meeting participants, in an easy and relatively advanced manner. Whether by muting all other participants, or by controlling who can talk and write, and when, as well as in more extreme cases, deciding who to place in the waiting room and who can share a screen.

 

How do I use the Zoom service?

The Zoom service has two main typical uses

 

Creating and managing a multiple-participant meeting

The first main use typical of the Zoom service is creating and managing multi-participant meetings. We’ll go over this application in detail later on, and cover all of the options Zoom offers managers of these meetings.

 

Joining an existing meeting

The second use is just joining an existing meeting. Here, using the service is sheer simplicity. Upon entering Zoom, you will be presented with two options: Join a Meeting and Sign In. Pressing the Join a Meeting button will open an additional screen, which will prompt you to enter the meeting code you received, or alternately, the link the meeting manager provided you with.

Then choose a name for yourself, determine whether you’ll be using it in the future, and then check the right two boxes, if you want the other participants to hear you, and if you want them to see you, respectively.

 

Creating and managing a multiple-participant meeting

As noted, meeting managers can plan a future meeting with a group of participants, or manage a meeting in real-time. In this guide, we shall refer to the various features the meeting manager can configure, which are relevant both to real-time meetings and to meetings scheduled for the future.

 

Meeting ID feature

You can use this feature to share the meeting’s serial number with your colleagues and the participants supposed to take part in the meeting. As noted above, participants need to enter the meeting number when joining the videoconference.

 

Operating and cancelling video and audio

During the meeting, you will have the option of activating or cancelling the use of your video camera, as well as the microphone of the device you are using.

 

Inviting participants to a meeting

The meeting manager has the option of adding additional participants to the meeting. These participants are accessible from a variety of sources and are divided accordingly.

Ongoing management of participants – Manage Participants

With this feature, you can introduce all call participants, mute or unmute them, close the meeting to prevent other participants from joining from the moment you decide, and so on.

 

Call recording

An additional important feature of the Zoom service is recording video calls held through the service for later viewing. This is an ingenious service, particularly for important lectures held over Zoom, lessons a student missed and later wants to make up (or more often, their parents want them to make up), organized documentation of meetings by senior company members, and a variety of additional uses.

 

 

Activating or cancelling group chat

As meeting managers you can activate a group chat, in which participants can communicate not only by voice but also by text.

How to change your Zoom name

Simply right-click the screen, then click the bottom option: “Rename.”

Then enter your new name in the box and confirm.

How to make sure that only the person who created the Zoom meeting can share their screen/draw on the screen

 

It’s been known to happen that students start drawing onscreen while their teacher makes a demonstration. To prevent this, cancel the option that each participant can share the same screen, by pressing the small arrow next to “Share Screen”, and then selecting “Advanced Share Options.”

Then mark “Only Host.”

And that’s it. From that moment onward, only the person who initiated the Zoom meeting can share the screen with the meeting’s other participants.

 

Can you make it so people joining the meting can join automatically, without needing approval?

No. Manual approval is currently required for a simple reason: if there was no need for approval, anyone could join the call, as

it’s very easy to guess the address of the meeting invitation. There have been cases in which anonymous individuals joined meetings and exposed their genitals and so on. Therefore the option was removed and each and every participant joining the meeting must be approved, to prevent cases like these.

 

לאחר מכן, ממלאים את השם החדש בתיבה ומאשרים.

Social
Media

© All rights reserved to Technion R&D Foundation
© All rights reserved to Technion R&D Foundation
Font Resize